MAC Viva Glam x Miley Cyrus 2015 (Lip Swatches & Thoughts)

And so you’ve been told, that MAC’s Viva Glam collaboration with Miley Cyrus is finally available to us for purchase! Well, since the 15th of February if I’m not wrong.

P2090177

I’ve shared a little of my thoughts about the Viva Glam collection and also Miley’s take on this MAC tradition (in my MAC SS’15 Overview here) but I thought I would repeat a couple of the points here while I showcase the products once more.

I’ll try to keep it short because ultimately heres the low-down: it’s a stunning pink lipstick that is surprisingly wearable across varying skintones and proceeds of this goes towards a charitable cause so really… what more do I have to say, right?

But you know me, I still have a lot to say otherwise. I just can’t stop rambling… heh.

P2090182

So as I had said, Viva Glam Miley Cyrus (the lipstick first), while a rather daunting bright pink in the tube is actually what I would call a wearable pink where brights are concerned at least.

It does lean a little blue, maybe, on some skintones but it isn’t in the league of scary blue-pinks either as I think it sits in a relatively comfortable neutral ground.

P2090183

It’s vibrant, no doubt, but it’s got just the right amount of color and also the right amount of depth such that ladies with deeper skintones wouldn’t have to worry when it comes to pulling this off and ladies who are fairer wouldn’t feel that this too dull or deep on either. It does still have that whole complexion brightening thing going on, if that helps.

I don’t know how many ways I need to define this shade but basically, it’s a mid-tone and vibrant pink that would easily find its spot in anyone’s makeup collection, I’m sure!

What’s more while it is creamy in formula and comfortable in wear, it’s pretty staining as well. Definitely not of the staining league as No Faux Pas but it’s good enough to leave a pink tinge on your lips even after a meal.

P2090180

In contrast to the creamy satin finish (Amplified formula) of the Miley Cyrus lipstick, the gloss is strewn with shimmer and in Miley’s creative direction words – like a disco ball. At least that’s what we were told of her vision and ideals of the gloss.

P2090186

While it appears like vibrant pink within the tube, the base of the gloss is actually sheer and the payoff is primarily shimmer with a translucent mid-tone pink base. The shimmer bits aren’t gritty, obnoxious or metallic (phew) but just sparkly enough to add some shine and fun to the already vibrant Miley Cyrus Lipstick.

P2090178

Of course you can choose to pair the gloss any way with anything but the ideal pairing would be the lipstick with the gloss.

P2090189

P2090193

Though as a personal preference, I don’t normally like to layer gloss all over the lips if I already have lipstick on (unless the lipstick formula needs that glide) so I opt to dab a little of Miley Cyrus lipglass in all its glossy shimmery goodness solely to the centre of the lips.

P2090194

I don’t have a swatch of that because I had only attempted it once but if you ask me, my ultimate preference is still the Viva Glam Miley Cyrus lipstick all on its own because I’m quite a fan of that creamy satin lipstick finish and this (lipstick) alone is pretty enough for me!

P2120035

P2120038

Plus the windy weather these days are definitely turning me away from glossy options.

 

Do you have your sights set on the Miley Cyrus lip duo?

Thanks for reading!

MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus 2015 is currently available at selected MAC outlets. The Lipstick and Lipglass retail for S$30 each. All proceeds of this will go towards the MAC AIDS Fund.

This is Limited Edition.

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

