A Look At MAC’s Bao Bao Wan Collection (Photos & Swatches)

Hello you guys!

Well, because blogging is now a bit of a irregular affair, I’ve decided… to hell with keeping to the order of things, I’m going to put things up when I can even if it means jumbling about with collection release dates.

Which means Bao Bao Wan is getting mentioned before Cinderella and Toledo, though I still hope to get around to talking about Toledo eventually even though it’s all over the internet because it has been released in the US for awhile now.

So anyway, Bao Bao Wan!

P2130036

The reason this gets bumped up is because I’ve come to really like the pieces I have from the collection which is a seemingly bejewelled and flamboyant eyeshadow palette and a vibrant tangerine lip color in Forbidden Sunrise.

In the scale of MAC collections, I’d say that Bao Bao Wan is considered small. Or maybe a little bit medium.

It’s a nice-sized collection without too much to overwhelm but just enough items within to catch your attention as well.

P2130037

Just to put a personality to the name, Bao Bao Wan (for those who don’t know, me included prior to this) is a Jewellery Designer from China who is also a stylish socialite, or so I’ve heard. Hence it’s no surprise that her collection comes in a beautiful packaging twist!

Instead of MAC’s usual glossy finish, the packaging in Bao Bao Wan’s collection takes on a matte or rather more suede-like finish that isn’t flat in dimension either as it appears like a deep bronzey grey yet flashes green when it hits the light.

P2130039

It’s stunning (to me, at least) and the darkened rose-gold accent running through the products (save the polishes of course) is a nice classy touch. The whole collection has a premium air to it while the prices are still kept very much similar to their usual – polishes and lipsticks are the same price as those in the permanent range.

Grey Divider

So anyway, enough talk about that, lets have a look at the pieces, starting with Bao Bao’s Jewels (S$75)!

P2130048

My first impression of this, and by that I mean before putting my finger to swatch it, was that this is probably a highly impractical eyeshadow palette that looks good and grand but wouldn’t be of much use.

Boy was I so wrong!

P2130052

It looks like it’s all shimmer and glimmer, which isn’t wrong, but underneath all that sparkle there is a decent amount of pigmentation to the colors making them discernible from each other.

P2130055

I don’t know what I was expecting but I guess it was along the lines of getting the same golden sparkly wash of shimmer no matter which pan I swatched but it was nice to know that they are distinguishable and while scarily sparkly in the pan, they do swatch on to be wearable colors that can be paired together for a look.

Granted it’s a look that is going to be sparklier and shinier than your average but given the jewelry theme of this collection, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, right?

Especially when 2 of the 5 colors are all about jam packed sparkles – that very top pale beige and the starry charcoal beneath.

P2130058

P2130057

P2130059

I’ll definitely be putting a look of this palette up because it is quite gorgeous and apart from the high shimmer factor the colors are something I would reach for and use. It’s so warm and beautiful my heart can’t take it.

P2160012

P2160014

Look to come, for sure, but in the meanwhile let’s move on to the lipstick!

 

There are 4 lip color variations in MAC’s Bao Bao Wan collection and they each other an aspect of the lip spectrum – oranges, reds, neutrals and purples.

P2130042

Of the lot, I received the straight out orange toned lipstick in Forbidden Sunrise (S$33) and I couldn’t be happier about it because straight out oranges are usually a little rarer to find.

While they do take some thought and look contemplation to wear, as compared to a red which easily goes with many looks, it ends up being such a lovely and unique bold look that I can’t resist it.

P2130045

It’s bright, colored and fun but in a different way and mood from the usual reds and pinks. I think orange lips paired with a peach or golden hued face is going to be my new thing!

So, Forbidden Sunrise is a little different from this other straight-out orange lipstick I have in my stash. My goldfish memory is forbidding me from recalling what it is right now – I’m thinking Shu Uemura, but I can’t be sure…

P2130047

But anyway, Forbidden Sunrise is an mid-tone orange that seems to have a bit of a white base so it can appear a little stark if you’re quite deep in skintone. In my pictures it photographs a little more saturated in intensity but I do urge you to swatch it in person first incase it comes out a milky orange on your skintone.

P2160122

Though that said, it isn’t pastel either and has a nice bright almost-neon quality to it.

P2160123

It doesn’t seem to lean towards the red spectrum so it stays a true orange once on the lips and while it’s quite an acquired look I think it’s perfect when you’re looking to play up your makeup looks or want that perfect summer-ish neon orange pout.

Purple Divider

In all, I think the MAC Bao Bao Wan collection was one that really caught my attention and I wasn’t expecting that at all because firstly I wasn’t too familiar with the name of said designer they are collaborating with and secondly at a glance I guess it didn’t look like much but I take that back now.

The packaging of this collection is quite lovely and the pieces within are nice as well in terms of colors and formulation. The polishes do swatch a little runny and sheer at first but after some building up I think they’re not too bad as well.

If you’re interested in the MAC Bao Bao Wan pieces then check out where to find it below! Prices of the other products within the collection is listed within my MAC SS2015 Round Up entry over here.

 

Thanks for reading!

MAC x Bao Bao Wan will launch 6th March Ngee Ann City and Robinsons Orchard. 12th March at TANGS Orchard.

This is Limited Edition

Sponsorship disclosure

One thought on “A Look At MAC’s Bao Bao Wan Collection (Photos & Swatches)

Leave A Reply!

