Look Feature: MAC Bao Bao Wan – Bao Bao’s Jewels On the Eyes & Forbidden Sunrise On the Lips!

Hey all!

I know you can probably feel the slow down on here already as New Job is now officially taking over my life…

Every. Single. Aspect of it.

Though what did I expect, right? I can’t promise more frequent updates, which is quite sad because I do have loads of exciting and upcoming stuff to share (that might not even be upcoming when I get around to talking about it) but I’ll try my best and write / shoot / edit pictures when I can alright!

So anyway, you aren’t here to read about that so let’s get on with this post!

 

This entry features a couple of pieces, and by couple I really mean 2, of the MAC Bao Bao Wan collection that I have on hand – namely the eyeshadow palette (Bao Bao’s Jewels) and a stunning coral lipstick (Forbidden Sunrise).

P2160125

I think I had shared some sentiments about Bao Bao’s Jewels already but to reiterate, this palette performed so so so much better than I had envisioned.

Enough for me to end up being rather obsessed by it and sticking to it for about a week, which is considerably long if you consider the fact that it’s quite warm and quite shimmery.

But boy, it’s oh so pretty! Wouldn’t you think so too?

 

I love how deliciously warm the palette is, which ironically is also a reason why I would get a little sick of using it after a week straight but it’s definitely something I can still go back to given how neutral the selection is.

P2160053

P2160055

P2160064

Now, I must also say that while I term this whole palette as beautiful and lovely, not all the shades within seem to be made equal.

P2160056

I didn’t mention this in detail within my Bao Bao Wan overview but the top beige is a little dry so it doesn’t adhere well to the skin unless you have a good base. But it’s so sparkly and pretty though!

The next shade that’s a little iffy is the deepest shimmery charcoal (not used in this look) which carries a little grit to it as well but it isn’t as dry as the beige.

P2160076

I feel for those two shades, the beige especially, they should be used like an accent shade that is dabbed or patted on or perhaps with a mixer so the shimmers hold better. Buffing them over the lid with a fluffy brush would result in the shimmer being everywhere else but your eye lids ;)

Though for everything else, aren’t they just magnificient?

P2160058

P2160069

P2160067

That’s that for the eyes and for the lips I have on Forbidden Sunrise, which was swatched in the Bao Bao Wan overview, but here you can see how well it plays with and compliments a warm eye (and also a warm complexion).

P2160079

P2160085

I have very few true oranges in my stash and I’m glad to say that Forbidden Sunrise is a much welcomed addition to the stash differing a little from the other orange lipstick that I have (from Shu Uemura, was it?) by having a certain milky quality to it amidst its bright orange appearance.

P2160112

P2160118

P2160109

P2160101

It’s bright, it’s fun and it’s nowhere near red at the same time. Absolutely perfect if you’re on the prowl for true orange lipsticks!

P2160088

So that’s that! I think having lesser time to the blog may help with my incessant rambling since I have less time to type things up I’ve got to cut to the chase, right?

Though I think writing isn’t the issues, it’s mostly pictures – both taking and editing them – that stalls the process given I just haven’t got the time for all that these days. So anyway, yes I’ve got a lot of drafts sitting around and alot of products waiting to be shot (plus some shot pictures waiting to be edited).

Wish we had more time (to ourselves!) in a day, yes? Ha.

 

Thanks for reading!

MAC’s Bao Bao’s Jewels Eyeshadow Palette retails for S$75. MAC’s Forbidden Lipstick retails for S$33. These are Limited Edition.

Find out more about MAC x Bao Bao Wan’s release information here.

Sponsorship disclosure

4 thoughts on “Look Feature: MAC Bao Bao Wan – Bao Bao’s Jewels On the Eyes & Forbidden Sunrise On the Lips!

  1. KT says:

    Love your site and have one request: Right after the picture of the cosmetic applied – such as your eyeliner – could you also include a picture of the product with the box and outside of the box? THX

    • Aw, thank you and I’m glad you do <3

      Though I don't fully understand the request – you would like perhaps a group shot of all the items I had used with the look? In the case of some items I may not have the box anymore as I may have thrown that out after I've opened them.

Leave A Reply!

