Look Feature: MAC X Julia Petit – Moving Sand Duo

Okayyy~ I’ll get right to the point here.

P2110004

I’ve only got one piece of the MAC x Julia Petit collection on hand (the Moving Sand Eyeshadow Duo) so I’m going to keep my feature short and simple. And of course hopefully compiling it like this makes it informative too.

In this post, I’ll be showing you some snaps of Moving Sand in all its smokey, warm, and also part sparkly glory, followed by my take on this duo which is likely to be the only take I’ll be able to do when using it alone.

I’ll explain why I say that in a little bit but… for now, here’s Moving Sand!

P2110011

I think of the 3 (duos available in MAC x Julia Petit), Moving Sand is probably the trickiest to use because you get a matte medium warm-yet-ashy brown paired with a shimmery smokey charcoal.

P2110007

P2110008

The only way I see this is smokey whereas the other 2 color variants does give you the option of trying a inner-corner, outer-corner sort of a pairing.

Not to say you can’t with this but I think the warm yet ashey brown will blend into nothing on my lids (maybe just a bit of warmth) and make the black a little misplaced if I were to do the inner-outer-corner combo.

So… where this duo is concerned I decided to just smoke it up!

P2110006

Now, I’m not the neatest when it comes to smokey eyes and usually I snap my looks in the morning so everything is done a little hasty.

I assure you it all looks great and good in person but cameras are sometimes a little too nitpicky about blending and patchiness.

How I wore Moving Sands is incredibly simple – pat the black all over just under the crease, blending it a little over and then softening the edges with some of that smooth warm brown.

Voila!

P2110013

With smokey looks, while it sounds simple in theory, a good amount of blending and fine-tuning is involved because black can be tricky to work with but overall I’m quite pleased with how it turned out.

P2110014

P2110025

I’m not typically a smokey eye (well, this smokey at least) wearer but I do like the look this gives. Almost like that lived-in supermodel sort of smokey eye.

Almost…

P2110033

For the rest of the face, I kept it simple – a clean base with soft glowy skin (thanks to mixing MAC’s Strobe Cream in with my Diorskin Nude Foundie fav), a soft coral flush on the cheeks and nude tan lips.

I deliberated playing the rebel playful factor up and throwing on some pink lips but ultimately chickened out because I didn’t want to show up too flashy to work, heh.

P2110050

P2110079

I tried to incorporate MAC items where possible given this is a focus on a MAC item, so why not try pairing the rest of the look but of course it’s not a largely MAC look.

Have a look at the product rundown if you’re interested in what’s where.

Products Used:

BROWS 
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown 
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glazed 

FACE 
AEON Ultragel Hydrator 
MAC Prep + Prime Face Protect SPF50 
Dior Diorskin Nude Foundation 
MAC Strobe Cream (mixed into foundation) 
MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer 
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder 

EYES 
Lancôme Aquatique Eye Base in 01 
MAC x Julia Petit Eyeshadow Duo in Moving Sand 
Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Skimp (brow bone) 
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide on Eyeliner in Perversion 

CHEEKS 
Lancôme Blush Subtil in 030 

LIPS 
MAC Toledo Lipglass in Oxblood

Grey Divider

Some thoughts on the texture of the shadows, I’ll say that they definitely aren’t the creamiest I’ve felt, nor the most buttery and intense in terms of pigmentation; Mumu (that matte brown) performed better and was easier to use than Noite (the shimmery charcoal). Though that goes without a doubt, given that Noite’s finish is a Lustre and that is notorious for being a MAC formula that is tricky to work with.

Noite does need some packing and building up to reach a lovely intensity and I’ll advise you to use a black base for added depth because no matter how rich it looks in the pan, it’s hard to build it up that same intensity.

Though in terms of pairing the pair does work well together, for how I use it at least, and I do think it’s a nifty little pan to bring around for smokey looks on the go when you’re traveling!

P2110091

It’s not going to score an A with me for texture but if you’re drawn to this pairing or need a quick duo for smokey eyes on the go then this isn’t too bad a consideration.

I’ll also advise you to give the rest of the MAC x Julia Petit collection a look too, the cranberry hued duo is quite a lovely one!

 

Thanks for reading and I hope you found this helpful!

MAC Julia Petit Duos retail for S$49 each and are available 20th March at MAC TANGS Orchard, Sephora ION Orchard, and Ngee Ann City.

This is Limited Edition!

Sponsorship disclosure

2 thoughts on “Look Feature: MAC X Julia Petit – Moving Sand Duo

Leave A Reply!

