MAC Toledo – Swatches of The Lips & The Eyes (Oxblood, Tarot & Opera)!

Hey guys!

I know, I know, it’s another one for MAC but what can I say, I’ve done these brand spams before and you know when I get on a roll with a brand, I really get on a roll.

I will repeat my whole stall and slowdown on the blog issue again (incase you missed my constant complaint and lament about leaving this space empty for too long) but I’ll keep it short: Yes, I’m still disappearing a little and that can’t be helped, sadly!

So much I want to say and post but time on here has been short so this space has been moving pretty slow, my bad!

I only hope that regardless my entries are still informative and helpful to those who choose to stop by and read (thank you :D)!

So… Toledo!

P2080035

To cut to the chase, because Toledo is already so talked about, I’ll skip out on all the backstory of the collaboration and general product information (that is covered here actually) and go straight to the products I have on hand.

P2080036

Now, Toledo is a pretty huge collection and there are many things to browse, swatch and consider but what I have here is simply some lip and eye stuff. Really simple and quick items to talk about and show so I assure you, it shouldn’t take up too much time.

Grey Divider

The lip items I have on hand would be the Oxblood Lipstick and Lipglass as well as a Lipglass in Opera.

P2080039

Now when the term Oxblood is mentioned, in respect to makeup (or fashion even), we’re so wired to immediately bring to mind a deep vampy or mildly maroon red shade that would be stunning for the evening or a perfect fit for Fall fashion.

Though MAC apparently decided to throw a little curveball with their take on Oxblood and roll out a peachy-nude shade in that name. Trust me, that took some getting used to.

P2080040

Oh you mean this is Oxblood? Hmm…

 

Choice of name aside, the color is actually quite a pretty one and definitely one that most would find wearable because while it’s a nude, it isn’t a dead-nude shade either and lends enough peachy hues to give your complexion some color.

Though it is still admittedly quite a nude lip look that not everyone will love but from the looks of it most do as it flew off the shelves when Toledo did their initial launch (on 1st March) at Sephora ION.

P2080042

I find the formula of Oxblood, while creamy in application, a little patchy and some attention is required during application to ensure it goes on perfectly well.

P2080050

However if it is any consolation, the patchiness I observed is me being critical and viewing the super close lip shots of this on. From a regular distance, as if someone were speaking to you but not in your personal space, it isn’t that glaring.

P2100213

 

The Oxblood Lipglass (left nude one) is something I would recommend more than the Lipstick if you don’t mind gloss.

P2080047

The gloss is opaque enough to lend color to the lips, and that’s pretty decent considering it is a nude shade, and the gloss aspect makes it go on in a finish that is easier to pull off as opposed to the matte one of the lipstick.

P2110049

I wouldn’t recommend using both together unless a dab of gloss in the middle of your lips just to add dimension or a little smoothed out to make the lipstick less patchy is what you have in mind because given the pigmentation of both the Lipstick and Lipgloss it could end up looking like a whole lot of product on if you applied both liberally.

The next lip item is the Lipglass in Opera, one of the many reds launched with the MAC Toledo collection.

P2080043

I can’t recall where Opera stands in the nuances and hues of the reds but I feel it’s an absolutely stunning red gloss to have.

Like the Oxblood Lipglass, Opera is equally pigmented in color with a nice glossy finish if that’s your kinda thing!

P2080053

The one issue or concern I have with incredibly pigmented gloss is that I’m always wary about them migrating or hair being caught on the lips and then dragging streaks of gloss over parts of the face so… there these concerns are a little evident with Opera Lipglass but thankfully it didn’t seem to feather much with wear.

P2100207

You may want to be a little cautious should you be wearing this and eating at the same time. My advice would be to wipe it off before so as to avoid mess.

Less is more as well with pigmented and strong colored glosses as they can get on your teeth should you apply too much.

P2080046

 

Alrightey, I think I’ve rambled on a little too much about the lip items so I’ll try to keep the next part a little shorter. After all, it’s a simple lil mascara so there’s only so much I can talk about it since I’m not an avid mascara user right now.

P2080056

So I believe there are 4 mascaras released with Toledo and apart from one of them being the mandatory noir shade, the other 3 are pretty fun injections of color.

The mascara even comes with a brush as quirky as the design of the collection itself. While adorable being all swirly and curvy, I did find that the intriguing shape did pose some trickiness when you’re trying to angle the bristles for certain lashes, namely the lower lashes.

P2080057

I can’t really speak for how well the mascara volumizes or curls considering I got the pretty purple on in Tarot and my preferred choice for using this would be on the lower lashes instead of the upper ones.

P2080060

Speaking a little bit of the color, I think Tarot is quite beautiful where purple mascaras are concerned. It isn’t the typical darkened kind and it has a pastel edge to it that brightens the shade up, but that also means it’s something that requires some thought as opposed to a darkened purple mascara that you can throw on any day for any eye look.

P2080061

Just for example-sake, I tried to snap some shots of me with Tarot on (my lower lashline) but as you can tell I applied it in some moderation that it gives a nice glimmer when it catches the light without making it look like I have purple-colored lower lashes.

P2130020

P2130026

P2130030

It’s a pretty mascara, that’s for sure but if you are looking for something more unique, there’s a lime green shade within the Toledo collection as well!

Purple Divider

So there you go! My thoughts and also some snaps of the Toledo pieces that I have on hand.

This might have come a little belatedly and I sincerely hope some pieces are available still. If not, I hope it serves as a little reminder to give these a look again should you have picked up these pieces and perhaps chucked them aside forgetting about them!

 

Thanks for reading!

The MAC Toledo collection is Limited Edition and was launched 3rd March 2015.

The Lipsticks and Lipglasses retail for S$33 while the Mascara retails for S$40

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

