What Was On My Nails: All Da Reds! (NARS & Barry M)

Hello you guys!

While I’m quite glad this week is a short week, it’s starting out to be quite a whirlwind of items to rush out / finish up! Amidst all the furious taping and typing away at work, I noticed that it’s been awhile since my nails have been painted and it’s been an even longer while since I’ve featured some nail entries up on here.

These days, after I started on New Job apparently, I just haven’t been able to find the time to paint my nails. Even with all the quick dry technology in the nail-realm, apparently time is still tough. Ha.

That aside, I’ve also been keeping my nails chopped short due to a rather bad eczema flare-up that I had faced quite recently. It’s much better now (don’t wanna jinx it saying this) but due to paranoia I still prefer keeping my nails short in the meanwhile so in the scenario I can’t resist the urge to scratch – and that happens a lot when I sleep – at least it isn’t so damaging.

So short and nekkid nails it is these days and frankly, I don’t mind but just for the blog’s sake here’s a look at some red talons I donned before this nail polish abstinence phase I’m going through right now.

 

Barry M – Pomegranite

The first of the reds would be this lovely gift that Mabel (Sheshopsmakeup) had got us from one of her trips.

IMG_7175

I’ve not tried much from Barry M, muchless polishes, so this stunning red was definitely a very welcomed addition to the nail drawer.

I don’t have many red nail polishes but of the few that I do have, I think Barry M’s Pomegranite stands quite uniquely amongst them.

IMG_7177

While red and bright, it’s got this soft creamy pink tone to it in certain lightings that prevent it from being a straight-out chilli-red and that option is nice sometimes when you want to take a break from the classic and text-book sort of red.

IMG_7181

IMG_7186

IMG_7189

The formula of this is quite awesome as well, going on glossy and shiny without the need of a top-coat and lasting well through the many days I had it on. It’s definitely a color I’ll reach for again, and again, and again!

NARS – Dovima

Speaking of again, and again, and again, a red that I’ve donned for the longest period of time, continuously too might I add, would be NARS Dovima.

IMG_8246

If Barry M Pomegranite isn’t classic enough for you then NARS Dovima is probably just what you need. I will say however that classic reds are quite commonplace in the beauty industry because everyone loves a good, rich, chilli-red nail polish but finding a good one with a nice shine, easy application and smooth quality may not prove as easy.

IMG_8248

IMG_8251

Dovima ticks all the right boxes and of course looks all sleek and chic in the NARS packaging.

Unfortunately I was gifted this gorgeous red by Mag (Makeupstash) so I’m not sure which collection it is from and if it is -le gasp- Limited Edition but eitherways if it happens to be I hope it gets repromoted really soon.

 

Dovima Feat. 3CE’s VL06

Another example of how obsessed I was with Dovima at one point is that even while painting another color (3CE’s VL06 which is stunning too and gifted by Eliza – all gifts in this post, I feel so loved, heh!) on, I actually felt inclined to add a pop of Dovima to spice up the combo.

IMG_9630

IMG_9631

 

So yes, long story short, here’s a look at the nail combos that I had cycled through before I arrived at the current nail abstinence phase.

I do miss the look of painted nails so I’m itching to get a fresh coat on soon but I guess until then it’s nekked nails to let them breathe and air and do whatever else naked nails do, ha!

On another note of red, I noticed Ciate has this stunning red, very appropriately called Red Hot Chilli! Go give the Ciate nail products a look if you’re looking for some quaint and chic pops of color (or even neutrals!)

 

Thanks for reading!

Till next time, whenever that is! I promise I’ll have my Urban Decay Sheer Revolution Lipstick mention up really soon. I’ve been working on that since forever!

2 thoughts on “What Was On My Nails: All Da Reds! (NARS & Barry M)

Leave A Reply!

