MAC Philip Treacy – The Super Quick Rundown (& Swatches) of What I’ve Got!

Hey guys!

Okay I’m dashing in real quick with this post because I know this is going up reaaal late and there are newer collections to talk about (like the massive MAC is Beauty) but we all know how fond MAC is of re-promoting so hopefully this will be of help be it now or eventually!

Last I had heard, which frankly was quite awhile ago too (my bad), a good amount of products were still in stock even a week after Philip Treacy’s launch because the folks at MAC had decided to up the quantity of each piece, really thoughtful!

Though…

I can’t speak much for now because it has been awhile since I heard that (and since Philip Treacy’s release), plus the items are all so beautiful I wouldn’t be surprised they would be snatched up.

So anyway!

About the Philip Treacy collection. Given how late my mention is I’m assuming most of you guys already know the ins and outs of this collection so I wouldn’t bother with press run-downs and go straight to what I have on hand.

Even then, I’m sure you’ve all seen the lipsticks being swatched and liners being worn but if you’re curious to know my thoughts on them, then read on!

Before I get to it, I want to say that the MAC x Philip Treacy promo visuals are absolutely stunning. One of the most visually captivating ones I’ve seen from MAC in awhile!

 

High-Light Powder in Blush Pink

Kicking this collection’s mention off with the pretty pink elephant in the room – the much talked about (because they’re so visually captivating) Highlight Powder.

These are available in 2 shades, Nude Pink and Blush Pink. Of the two, I have Blush Pink, the lighter and more pink-toned variant.

The powder has a beautiful pan design complete with a sparkly silver overspray over parts of the design.

On first look I assumed that the powder was simply a soft luminous (but really largely satin and powdery) pink but upon closer look, there are actually little silver shimmers strewn within the powder. Albeit not concentrated so it doesn’t end up giving you a disco ball look.

The overspray lends a nice silvery gleam and sparkle when swatched but it’s not a finish to shout much about either.

While it is termed a highlight powder, I’ve found myself using it ala a beauty powder – buffing it all over for a soft luminous finish.

The sparkles can look a little evident in some light – not gritty but you will see twinkling on the skin – so I wouldn’t suggest this method to all but under daylight and most indoor lighting you can’t really pick up on them unless someone was staring your skin down.

I would say this powder is a nice thing to own, in the context of a beauty powder more than a highlighter, but not a must-grab either.

Unless you have a weakness for packaging then I can’t really help you there ;)

 

Paintpot in Genuine Treasure

Speaking of sparkles, let’s move on to another glitzy number from this collection, the MAC Paint pot in Genuine Treasure!

This bronzey shimmery beauty does come with a little disclaimer of being a tad patchy to work with and blend but the final result is oh-so-gorgeous so I’ll leave it to you to decide if that slight con is worth it.

To me, maybe because the paint pot is still fresh and lovely to use, I have no problems with the texture. It requires just that bit more patting and blending but it still goes on nicely and the smokey sparkly bronze and gold finish it leaves on the lids is completely worth it, in my books.

My lamp lighting can’t capture the sparkles in the most beautiful way but once worn on your lids, they’ll dance and shine as you blink or move your lids. Spectacular, really!

 

Fluidlines in Blacktrack and Royal Wink

Apart from the paint pot, there are also a couple of Fluidlines launched under the Philip Treacy collection to help you get your peepers ready!

There are 3 shades available and while I do have all 3 on hand, I decided to stagger the feature of Blue Peep to the MAC is Beauty collection since you’ll see it over there as well.

So, seen here would be the signature Blacktrack Fluidline (permanent) and Royal Wink Fluidline, the only Limited Edition shade coming out amongst all of MAC’s recent Fluidline re-promotes.

Blacktrack really needs no introduction, it’s MAC’s signature creamy and smooth black gel liner that’s got a fandom or cult clan of its own, I’m sure, so let’s move on to Royal Wink!

Royal Wink is a striking cobalt blue in the tub that can seem intimidating with its undeniably regal, striking, and captivating aura.

Though I’ve noticed (it’s been a long long while since I’ve used Fluidlines) that the Fluidlines have a tendency to go on a little softer in look and finish (compared to my norm of liquid liners at least). So, for a color like Royal Wink, I dare say it goes on rather wearable!

Wear-ability is a subjective term, I know.

It’s still a cobalt blue and still bright if you’re not used to colored liners but compared to all I’ve seen or used, I think this sits somewhere in the ‘usable’ area and is something I would throw on for work if I felt up for it.

Finish-wise, I do notice that Royal Wink can go on a little patchier with one pass and require some evening out but it has a nice creamy glide to it so going over the line again isn’t a chore.

At least there aren’t any tugging or balling up issues with this!

I have done a Look Feature with this duo so you’ll have a better look at how they wear on the eyes soon!

 

Lipstick in Cardinal and Hollywood Cerise

Finally, here’s the best for last!

Though it’s not to say the earlier products aren’t good but rather I’ve personally got this huuuuuge soft (jelly-like almost) spot for lip products – lipsticks / stains / crayons especially.

The richer, the bolder, the deeper, the better!

There are 3 lipstick releases in this collection, of which I already have No Faux Pas on hand (from the holiday collections) so I’m featuring that alongside newcomers, Cardinal and Hollywood Cerise.

That would explain why No Faux Pas appears in a different outfit from the rest.

The 3 lip shades are all strong and vibrant hues so if rich, deep and intense lip colors are your weapons of choice then you will find yourself absolutely taken with these.

Since I’ve already spoken about No Faux Pas over here, I shan’t go into much detail or spam many photos about it but here it is, swatched with the other 2, just cause.

So, Cardinal is a rich red that appears to have this deeper edge from the tube but once on, that depth isn’t too dark which works out if vampy isn’t your thing. Yet of course it isn’t a fire-engine red on either.

I think it is a stunning shade and compared to a bright bold red, that sometimes you need to feel in the mood to wear, this is considerably more… wearable? Again, wearable is a subjective term.

If red isn’t quite your thing or you’ve got too many reds on hand (is there such a thing as too many reds? Ha) then meet Hollywood Cerise – here’s a color that you don’t see too often. a deep raspberry pink.

I say it’s unique because while it’s mostly like a medium / slightly deeper pink shade, it’s got a nice tinge of purple or what I like to call raspberry-tone in it.

While pink is pink, it’s definitely one of the more unique pinks I have in my stash!

I think I’m threading into self-justifying grounds now so I shall stop. It is a beautiful pink nonetheless and I gladly welcome it with open arms :)

Purple Divider

So, there’s that!

A quick (I hope…) lowdown and look at some of the items released with MAC’s Philip Treacy collection.

I know, I know, everyone’s talking about stuff coming out in June already and I’m still stuck on what came out in March (I think?). My bad! Posting schedules are incredibly irregular for me these days but even then I hope to do a thorough job about it no matter how belated I am (plus MAC loves re-promoting anyway), hurhur. So for Philip Treacy, I’ve got 3 Look Features for you.

Though, I do want to ask…

Would you like to see them right after this or after my product low-down of the newly released MAC is Beauty Collection? For orderly-sake I do prefer spamming Philip Treacy all at once but I’m willing to change the order of things if anyone prefers!

So anyway, wrapping it up, thank you all for reading and catch you around again!

 

Sponsorship disclosure

3 thoughts on “MAC Philip Treacy – The Super Quick Rundown (& Swatches) of What I’ve Got!

Leave A Reply!

