Look Feature: Genuine Treasure with A Pop of Hollywood (Cerise)!

Hello!

It’s time again for a Look Feature!

Now. while you’re not here for long stories I just want to repeat that often (actually, all the time) my Look Features are actual looks that I do for a day at work because weekday mornings are the only time I can manage to plop on this amount of makeup. Weekends are always a rushed and family oriented affair so makeup fun-time is almost zilch.

That said, I’m currently in a relatively new work environment and have donned safe neutrals for about a month now and feel it’s about time I take some baby steps towards more played up makeup, and in the process, be able to squeeze out some Look Features for you guys!

So with that essay done, let me introduce this look!

Okay, if anything, I know it isn’t flamboyant but I would say it’s a tad flashier than what I’m used to – simple soft brown neutrals and all.

This look is slightly smokey with a beautiful amount of shimmer and sparkle (sadly not full captured in this lighting) and even with all that ‘drama’, to me at least, I still paired it all with a bright lip color.

If it counts for anything, I donned it on a Friday which makes it okay to be a little flashier, yes? Heh.
For the lids, all I had on was Genuine Treasure, a paint pot released with the MAC Philip Treacy collection, and this right here is pure love.

The formula could be perfected a little more and it could apply creamier and blend a tad better but overall it’s pretty okay.

Plus the fact that it’s absolutely stunning and sparkly just about makes up for it.

I thought to line the lids with Blacktrack (re-promoted with Philip Treacy) but preferred a richer and more crisp patent-black liner look so liquid liner it is!

The sparkles within Genuine Treasure is the real gem here but under my strong lamp lighting they’re a little washed out and muted. If you’re in a dimmer lighting situation (e.g. warmer light, or even washroom lighting) you’ll see the shimmers really sparkle and shine as you blink – it’s quite beautiful!

If you’re wondering about whether the shimmery bits tend to migrate or fall on the cheeks with wear then my answer to that is – yes.

Though, as you can see, the shimmer flecks are quite fine so if you’re good with a little sparkle on the cheeks as you move then you should be fine with any fall out or migration from this. Definitely no disco-ball action, thankfully.

Plus, with something this gorgeous, that minor bit of a con is something I can live with.

Given the smokey and sparkly eye look, I could have gone with a nude lip look but instead decided to go on a more playful route and pop on Hollywood Cerise, a bright raspberry pink!

I swept on a light veil of color on the cheeks using my favorite blush for that soft flushed effect – THREE Color Veil in Lovekick. Since the eyes and lips were already played up so much, it’s only wise to give the cheeks some color (to balance the look) but nothing too overpowering either.

I think it’s the lack of sleep these days that’s making my double eye-lid do weird hooded things again. I’ve been quite annoyed with it in some of the recent Look Features I’ve snapped. Grr.

Products Used:

BROWS
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glazed

FACE
PURER Skin Serum
L'OCCITANE Angelica Eye Roll-on
MAC Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula SPF 30 Moisturizer
Leaders Clinic Sunscreeen
Lancome Mat Miracle Liquid Foundation
Urban Decay NAKED Concealer
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder
Diorsnow Fresh Reveal Color Correcting Powder in 001 Crystal Rose

EYES
Urban Decay Primer Potion
MAC Genuine Treasure Paintpot
Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics Palette
Eyeko Eye Do Liquid Liner in Black
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Liner in Perversion

CHEEKS
THREE Color Veil in 19 Love Kick

LIPS
MAC Lipstick in Hollywood Cerise

Grey Divider

And that’s the look!

I’ll admit that while I’ve tried wearing some slightly flashier and not-so-neutral looks to work a couple of times, I still have second thoughts about it when I sit down and think to put together a more striking / smokey / colorful look for the day.

While bright lips is something I have started throwing on since Week 1 at New Job, I still get some colleagues commenting about how ‘red’ my red lipstick is… Heh.

Baby steps I guess, baby steps.

I’m definitely not going to do some full-out smokey cleopatra-esque sorta eye look anytime soon of course.

 

Thanks for reading you guys! Look forward to my last Philip Treacy Look Feature that features a bright pop of blue! :)

2 thoughts on “Look Feature: Genuine Treasure with A Pop of Hollywood (Cerise)!

  1. Absolutely LOVE that lipstick! It’s so flattering and stunning I find on asian skintones. I rarely wear red but will always be happy to adorn a hot fuchsia pink! Also I love how you blended the edge/end of your eyeliner and how deep, dark and smokey your outer corners look! It’s gorgeous!

    • Aww, thank you for all your compliments, I’m so flattered :D And yes I do agree that sometimes pinks can be more flattering on Asian skintones as opposed to a red. For some reason the right pink can really brighten up the complexion and all. It’s just that most feel it’s a bit daunting to don a bright fuschia but you pull pinks off so well! Love what you have on in your display picture!

Leave A Reply!

