Speeding Through (and Swatching) MAC is Beauty Beauties!

Okie dokes, hello again you guys!

Well… I know this post is real late and I’ve got more relevant things to share (like MAC Wash and Dry and a whole lot more non-MAC stuff) but if I don’t put this up now it’ll get shoved to the abyss where backlogged posts float about without a purpose or aim in their lives.

Ha, so dramatic, my bad.

So, no matter how late, here’s MAC is Beauty cause I owe you guys this one.

This whole collection, at a glance is a lot of pretty but frankly not a whole load of practical. Though then again, that is subjective and dependent on your makeup style.

Sure there are some nice picks and good choices within like promoting the Fluidlines (which are mostly permanent though, so no rush there) and also the deliciously candy-colored Lipsticks, of which I would say half are a little too pastel and pale for my liking but they do make pretty eye candy nonetheless.

There are some other lovely picks within like the Cremesheen glasses, if those are your thing, and some Beauty Powders within that are nice to have.

With all that said, let’s get cracking on how much of pretty is usable!

 

Eyeshadow in Wow Factor

Getting the lone little eyeshadow out of the way, I have this purple-hued matte in Wow Factor that actually goes on a little bit more usable and wearable than I had imagined.

There are 4 shades launched with MAC is Beauty (if I’m not wrong), all of which are a little light, airy and pastel.

I’m not sure why at a glance I predicted Wow Factor to go on a little chalky and ‘floaty’ – you know how pastel colors have this light base that makes the color go on really pale and appears as if they ‘float’ above your skin? – but surprisingly Wow Factor turned out pretty nice.

The color isn’t chalky at all, it swatches easily and in this case it’s thankfully not immensely pigmented at first swatch. There’s some translucence to this purple that allows it to be more wearable despite its pastel outlook.

Sure the color still needs some building up if you want a true purple to show up but at least it actually does intensify with each layer.

Is it a love? I would say… not really unless you’re seeking a matte pastel-purple. But was it a nice surprise? You could say that.

 

Fluidline in Blue Peep (and Blacktrack)

Next up is something that’s permanent so no matter that this entry is delayed because these little buggers are likely still around. Unless out of stock but they’ll be back in no time, don’t worry about it.

So the line-up of Fluidlines introduced with the MAC is Beauty collection is quite extensive. Like mind-whirling sort of an intensive with a mix of cream and also shimmery finishes though I have a humble selection of 2 to feature. Of which, you’ve already ‘met’ Blacktrack earlier with my Philip Treacy entry.

Spotlighting more on Blue Peep, because honestly, what is there to say about Blacktrack (a smooth creamy black gelliner) that most MAC fans don’t already know?

Blue Peep is a scary little number in the pot. So bright, so intriguing and so stunning but scary, nonetheless.

If you thought that Royal Wink from Philip Treacy is a color that requires plucking up some guts to use, then you had better start plucking those guts and more up if you’re thinking to use Blue Peep!

Though that said, it’s not a color that’s completely unwearable too because what I like about liners is no matter how scary or vibrant (unless it’s a blood red or something unorthodox), all you need is a crisp sharp sleek of black to pair it with and somehow everything just works.

Yes it’s a little bit of a pop compared to the same ole same ole black slick of liner but it’s a fun way to dress up your look without too much effort.

And if you ask me, I think Blue Peep feels like nicely formulated. It applies a lot creamier and more intense than Royal Wink did. It’s almost similar to Blacktrack in terms of the smooth glide of pigmentation, definitely no patchiness or translucence inbetween colors here!

You’ll feel like using it just because it draws on so smoothly and well, ha!

 

Cremesheen Glass in Japanese Spring

Now… on to this little bugger which honestly, I don’t have a lot to share about.

There was a time, when these were first launched I believe, that I actually was quite intrigued by these and chased launches as well as made purchases.

These days, I’m more of a lipstick/lipstain kinda girl so glosses have since been ushered to the back of my mind and I don’t pay much heed to them., much less the softer Cremesheen Glass shades since they’re largely quite soft in pigmentation and solely lend a milkiness to the lips.

It’s not a product that excites me but if Cremesheens are your calling then you might have been quite pleased with MAC bringing them out again (in 3 shades if I’m not wrong) in a variant of cutesy pastel hues for MAC is Beauty.

I did attempt to include this fella in a Look Feature eitherways, despite my lukewarm feelings towards it, so do keep a lookout for that!

 

Beauty Powder in Pearl Blossom

I think Beauty Powders are always abit of an underdog.

To me at least when it comes to browsing through product extensive collections because I’ll always get swept away by the lip and eye stuff (and sometimes the blushes) that the last thing I focus on would be the Beauty Powders though truth be told, these are really quite nice little gems.

Depending on the Beauty Powder and the purpose, of course.

Though Pearl Blossom is quite a stunner, though soft and subtlety so.

It reminded me of Shell Pearl (launched with Liberty of London way back) but with a stronger pink tone to it than Shell Pearl’s peachy color of course.

Pearl Blossom is beautifully strewn with fine shimmers within which I swear appear to be a mix of gold and silver flecks but once swatched (on the hand and on the face) the gold hues seem to vanish and instead I see more of a silvery glow. Though not so silver that it is overly cool-toned. I would still rank this as a rather neutral color finish.

My favorite way to use this is with a fluffy buffing brush and sweeping this all over the face for an added glow of both color and soft sheen though it also has enough color (on my skintone and fairer ladies perhaps) to show up as an icy pink blush if you care to build it up.

Beautiful, really!

 

Lipsticks in Silly & Diva-ish

I’ve noticed that this is slowly becoming a trend, where product-extensive collections are concerned, I seem to save the lipsticks for last. Heh.

Told you I’m a bit of a lipstick fiend right now and there’s really no way to resist the temptation of beautifully intense and eye-catching lip shades.

While majority of the lipsticks launched with MAC is Beauty are on the paler and more pastel side of colors (a definite yay for those who love that – pastels aren’t often embraced by brands), there are some notably more vibrant and striking shades within as well.

Silly and Diva-ish, pictured here, are one of the few and boy are they gorgeous!

The thing about these 2 would be that they go on a little lighter and brighter than how they appear in the tube, and it’s not as if they are a different or wholly new formulation either.

Silly is a matte (the only matte lipstick in MAC is Beauty, actually) and Diva-ish comes in Amplified if I remember right.

Though somehow both appear a little deeper in the tube, which was a bit of a pity to me where Diva-ish is concerned because I was really in love with that raspberry tone it had that doesn’t seem to show up as much on my lips.

I have noticed that on more pigmented lips it seems a little more true-to-tube with that deeper hue that I love so much. Bummer!

Nonetheless they are gorgeous shades and, you guessed it, I have Look Features of these guys coming up for you so do look out for that!

How could I not, right?

 

And even if these items may not be available at all MAC counters anymore – told ya I’m super late, my bad –  it’s the GSS period so there’s loads to buy everywhere!

Even if you’re a little bit too lazy to step out of the house to shop (as I am most of the time these days, ha), there are loads of GSS promotions online, so get shoppin’!

Don’t say I didn’t share some relevant news amidst this super belated one, heh!

Purple Divider

Wrapping this up, I’ve got some Look Features from MAC is Beauty to feature! I may not be able to do the OCD thing of having them up in one orderly stream cause there’s just so much more relevant things to talk about but… I’ll try and we’ll see!

Just a heads up in case I break my modus operandi and you guys start wondering what’s up with me, heh.

Anyway, thanks for reading and I’ll be back soon, real soon!

2 thoughts on “Speeding Through (and Swatching) MAC is Beauty Beauties!

Leave A Reply!

