Look Feature: All Purple-d Out with Wow Factor and Diva-ish (MAC is Beauty)

Okay guyyyys, time is runnin’ out here so I’m going to cut straight to it!

I know it’s still a week away till July (for da exciting things to come!) but while I’m hustlin’ these entries out, because of my OCD self and the need to group all my MAC is Beauty mentions together, I’m also trying to finalise the bits and bobs and iron out pieces from the July Excitement so I can hopefully get it together and deliver it well to you guys.

Because you know, my time is already a little stretched and tight normally. Frankly speaking this project is quite normal to some but probably ambitious to me yet I am just so excited about it I’m throwing caution to the wind and running in with it.

But anyway, that’s just me rambling on about that when it’s not quite time to do a big reveal just yet so… let’s get back to this MAC Look Feature.

The moral of today’s entry is, who says you can’t pair purple-hued lids with purplish tinged lips?

Well, no one in particular….

But there is that age-old  makeup saying of keeping color on one place or only emphasizing one of your features so nothing competes against each other which I guess isn’t wrong but it doesn’t mean you can’t play around with makeup a little and mix up some colors on the lids and lips, yes?

After all, the beauty scene is evolving so much these days that there’s no hard and fast rule to makeup anymore so long as you feel comfortable in it and are werking it!

Though mis-matched face and neck foundie is still not cool.. ha.

For the eyes, I played around with Wow Factor which was actually a beauty to wear and apply.

It went on smoothly and blends really easily considering it’s quite a pale almost pastel sort of lilac which could go so wrong with chalkiness and pilling up but none of that happened.

The color had a bit of a dustiness to it too once on the lids and that made it pretty wearable as well – not too stark or pastel on which was what I had feared.

To give the look a bit of definition and also a ‘neutral’ edge, I added some smokey purples that weren’t too bright or strong in purple hues. Something a little smokey, a little deep with a touch of aubergine to keep to the theme of purples.

 

The eye look turned out really wearable, more so than I had in mind, and beautiful even for the day to day and it’s definitely something I would throw on again if I get bored of browns.

On the lips I have Diva-ish, also from MAC is Beauty, and this color on the other hand was a little bit of a sad case on me.

I believe the issue lies with me, at least.

In the tube, Diva-ish is this gorgeous berry tinged pink that has a little bit of a depth to it that gives it a nice twist. Yet once applied on my lips, the color seems to lighten considerably and goes on a bit of a vibrant mid-pink.

I seem to lose a little of that berriness and purple-tone that I loved from the tube and it could be due to my lip’s pigmentation or rather lack of because I have seem some ladies with lips that are a touch more pigmented and that seems to bring out the berriness of Diva-ish beautifully.

How sad, really.

Though it’s still a pretty pink that I quite like to wear, just not entirely what I had in mind. Boo.

Products Used:

BROWS
MAC Dipdown Fluidline

FACE
PURER Skin Serum
L’OCCITANE Angelica Eye Roll-on
MAC Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula SPF 30 Moisturizer
Leaders Clinic Sunscreeen
MAC Pro Longwear Waterproof Liquid Foundation (NC25)
MAC Pro Longwear Waterproof (NC20 – undereye concealer)
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder

EYES
Urban Decay Primer Potion
MAC Eyeshadow in Wow Factor
MAC Eyeshadow in Shadowy Lady
MAC Eyeshadow in Smudged Violet
MAC Eyeshadow in Brule
IN2IT Waterproof Liquid Liner in Black
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Liner in Blacktrack

CHEEKS

LIPS
MAC Lipstick in Diva-ish

Revisiting my earlier point in this post, yes I would think that the makeup rule has some truths to it such that as long as everything has some sort of a balance to it like how while there is purple on the lids and lips, the one on the eyes is dustier and more muted to allow the bright purple-tinged pink to stand out more.

So, yes, I think that’s about it for this look!

I have 1 more Look Feature coming up before I announce whats going down in the month of July (during July, but of course) so stay tuned for that! I hate to be a tease about it and who knows, maybe it’s not the same level of excitement for you guys as it is for me but I really am quite stoked about it.

The excitement is going to flow over to my Instagram account too so if you’re not following me on there yet, what are you waiting for!

:)

One thought on “Look Feature: All Purple-d Out with Wow Factor and Diva-ish (MAC is Beauty)

Leave A Reply!

