LOTD: YSL Tuxedo – Wines & Berries!

Look Dos, or should I say Look Deux from the YSL Tuxedo palette is a look at the cranberry and purplish hues within this 10 piece palette.

P6250042

At a glance, and based on previously swatching it, I should have predicted that these would go on intense and incredibly smokey but it was during the process of doing up the look that I realized – whoa, these shades really aren’t joking around!

I’m usually quite comfortable wearing purples, as compared to other colors like green or blue for example, and have no qualms about sweeping on some lilac, soft pastel lavenders or even the brighter magenta tones.

Though I’ll admit that somehow this look ended up being a little daunting even for me and I only realized how intense and smokey (smokier than my usual purples even, at least) it is when I was done with the look!

‘Cause you know, before that I was trying to get the color placement right and make sure the look ended up looking like what I had in mind.

Commitment yo.

P6250069

But anyway…

If you ask me, while these purples pair together perfectly well, in my usual makeup sequence I might not choose to pair them all together. Not all the time at least.

Shades 2 and 3 (as per labelled below), I feel, are both unique and gorgeous in their own ways and somehow best interpreted and worn separately if you don’t want a look that’s too ‘overboard’ in terms of pigmentation, color and smokiness.

Shade 2 is beautifully sparkly with a nice touch of smokiness and would make a perfect all over lid smokey shade that doesn’t follow the conventional blacks, silvers and greys.

Shade 3 on the other hand is such an interesting cranberry and slightly aubergine color (that’s a little bright for my daily standards) that I would personally pair it with a more neutral hue like taupe or a deep brown as opposed to a smokey outer-corner blend.

P6140032 labelled

Though I’ve rambled too much about alternative eye looks that I would do with this trio, let’s get back to what I had actually done and documented for this Look Feature!

P6250017

Because I wanted to blend and pair the colors seamlessly together while making it still fairly wearable for my workday, I ended up blending away some of the beautiful sparkles within though you can still catch them a little at some angles in the shots below.

Not as obvious as I would like, but still a little evident.

P6250030

P6250023

The smokiness of that outer-corner shade really astounded me since it appears quite plummy in the pan.

P6250009

P6250020

I didn’t really give much of a mention to the darkened champagne shade that was used in the inner corner of the lid because, alongside a cranberry and a sparkly smokey purple it doesn’t seem like much but it truly is a beautiful shade that’s easy to use and also a little unique from the pale and shimmery champagnes that we are used to.

I’ve given it a lot of use, even outside the grouping of this trio, and I’ll probably talk about it again in a mix and match Look Feature to come.

P6250025

P6250020

P6250029

P6250071

For the rest of the face, given how smokey and ‘dressy’ the look is already, the rightful pairing is a cleaner and more neutral face with soft peach or nude hues on the cheeks and lips, right?

Well… yes but you know me, somehow I’ve been on this makeup phase of pairing smoked up and slightly dramatic eyes with stronger lip shades so that’s exactly what I had done here.

P6250047

It’s quite bizarre really, that I feel a pop of color on the lips is nice paired with smokey eyes for the day and for the night I prefer a nuder and lighter lip shade.

It’s as if I feel nude and fair lips is more of an acquired and dressy look compared to a vibrant pink pout.

Very interesting indeed.

P6260105

P6250033

P6250036

P6250056

P6250060

The lipstick that I have on is the YSL Pur Couture The Mats in Shade 208 which is a current love of mine.

YSL’s Pur Couture Mat formulations are extremely lovely to wear being comfortable and creamy on while imparting rich and intense pigmentation coupled with a finish that’s a little flatter in dimension but in a favorable and flattering way.

It’s not quite matte matte, I’ve seen shades with a more intense matte finish, and perhaps a bit more of a satin but that makes it easy to wear if you want something simpler in finish but not too retro or ‘flat’ either.

P6250059

P6250044

Products Used:

BROWS
MAC Dipdown Fluidline

FACE
YSL Forever Light Creator Skintone Corrector Serum
YSL Forever Light Creator Dark Circle Corrector
MAC Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula SPF 30 Moisturizer
YSL Forever Light Creator Sunscreen
YSL Fusion Ink Liquid Foundation
Urban Decay NAKED Concealer (under eye)
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder

EYES
Urban Decay Primer Potion
YSL Couture Variation Palette in 02 Tuxedo
IN2IT Waterproof Liquid Liner
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Liner in Perversion

CHEEKS
YSL Babydoll Kiss & Blush in #2

LIPS
YSL Pur Couture The Mats in 208

Grey Divider

I’ll talk about the YSL lip ranges in more detail through the 30 Days of YSL mentions so stay tuned for that but meanwhile, that’s that for Look Deux from the YSL Tuxedo palette!

The purples are definitely the dressier shades of the lot, though they’re all considerably dressy in their own ways, but if you’re in it for the smokiness and vampy-ness then these crimsons and plums are right up your alley!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for the Sparkly Blue look coming up on Monday!

Cause you know, Monday Blues and all… ha

 

The YSL Couture Variation Eye Palette in Tuxedo retails for S$119 at all YSL counters and boutiques.

This is a permanent item.

Sponsorship disclosure

3 thoughts on “LOTD: YSL Tuxedo – Wines & Berries!

  1. I absolutely love the eye look! The #3 color is so surprising haha…Just looking at the look, I thought it would’ve been a brown of some sort, instead of a plum/purple, which is what it was in the pan.

Leave A Reply!

