YSL Vernis à Lèvres Glossy Stain & Pop Water Look Book!

Hey guys!

So real quick, here’s the low down about YSL’s Glossy Stains!

P6210256

I’m dashing about a little hurriedly with this post because time’s a little tight so I hope I manage to do these Glossy Stains some justice and feature / mention them well because they are amazing products and I can’t even put to words how much I adore them.

It’s not often that you chance upon a product that’s rich in pigmentation and intensity, has a cool aqueous formula, goes on with a high shine and wears like da bomb at the same time!

That’s a lot of boxes ticked! Though the question now is whether these boxes are the ones on your list. 

Though for those not too fond of intensely pigmented lips, YSL had you guys in mind and recently launched the Pop Water edition to the Glossy Stains line up.

I’ll share more about this new segregation but simply put, they’re more neutral, natural and a lot softer in hue with more translucence. 

The mildly confusing aspect is that while it’s rightfully a considered ‘sub-category’ within the Glossy Stain overview, they’re still grouped together and lumped together with their naming system (aka numbers I never remember) the main way to tell them apart. 

That and the shade once you swatch it of course.

But eitherways, we’ll get to that! And it’s likely not so complex – you go to the store, you see, you swatch, you like, you buy. Ha!

 

Glossy Stain

First, let me talk about the full-on intense Glossy Stains. The Classics, as I like to refer to them as right now. 

P6210260

These days, it’s increasingly common to marry glossiness with pigmentation but I feel I haven’t chanced upon a product that checks all the boxes that the Glossy Stains do.

It’s usually glossy and pigmented but not quite staining, or staining and pigmented but not too glossy.

Somehow if they manage to get glossy, staining and pigmentation down, it doesn’t carry the same watery and cool texture that the Glossy Stains have.

P6210280

So… Yes I’m rambling now but I find that these are truly quite unique.

I wish I had more hues to showcase but of my stash, I only have 2 – a bold red and a vampy aubergine-red.

Glossy Stain in #9 Rouge Laque

P6210263

P7020163

P7020167

P7020168

P7020169

P7020190

 

Glossy Stain in #33 Bourgogne Artistique

P6210264

P7080059

P7080061

P7080067

P7080071

P7080090

Grey Divider

Glossy Stain Pop Water

Now, after all that pigmentation and intensity, let’s dial it down a notch to something more natural and much softer.

P6210266

Much as I’m always singing praises about intense color and pigmentation – because ultimately those are best to dress up a look and easiest to showcase without saying much – complementing neutrals are still a nice and easy option within the stash.

Especially for days where you want just a hint of color to wrap up the look but don’t quite going for the big and bold.

Though… As a personal opinion, I’ll say that the shade of Pop Water I have, while pretty and soft, is perhaps a little too neutral and natural for my liking.

P6210274

Sure it’s a perfect shade for the weekends, and I do use this quite oft  then, but my logic when it comes to the Glossy Stains is go big or go home.

Well, maybe you don’t have to go that big but while super natural tones are lovely I feel they’re not the most representative of the prowess these Glossy Stains hold.
Nonetheless, to each their own and while I don’t love this, I can see why some might.

All that said and done, I do enjoy this time to time. 

Glossy Stain in Pop Water #203 Eau de Corail

P6210269

P6030009

P6030019

P6030029

P6030032

Purple Divider

That’s that for the Glossy Stains! I know I ended up rambling a little more than intended, oops, but I had some opinions that came to mind and felt I should include them.

Hope you guys don’t mind a bit of that, heh!

I’ll be wrapping up the lip Look Books with the YSL Tint in Oils in the next post! I expect that one to be a tad more informative than the lip postings I’ve been doing this far because that’s a rather new ‘mention’ to my blog but… We’ll get to that.

Meanwhile, thanks for reading!
P.s. Was a little time strapped but I’ll update the price again in a bit!

One thought on “YSL Vernis à Lèvres Glossy Stain & Pop Water Look Book!

Leave A Reply!

