LOTD: The Birthday Face with YSL! – Soft Blues & Glossy Red Lips!

Hello you guys!

It’s been awhile since a casual LOTD on here where I simply fish around for stuff to plop on the face, depending on what I feel like having on. As opposed to me deliberately matching and pairing for the Look Features of late.

Don’t get me wrong though, sometimes the challenging aspect of Look Features is what I like too, as it allows me to push my own makeup comfort-zone boundaries.

Though ‘simply fish around’ is also not not entirely the case here because I’m still trying to keep in theme with YSL here. It’s just, I figured it’s timely that my birthday falls within the period I’m doing this 30 Days of YSL stint so what better way to add to my mentions than to do a YSL Birthday look!

P7280194

It makes this series more memorable an event (for me perhaps) in 2015, yes?
However since I don’t have big plans for the day apart from the usual work and then a simple family dinner and cake after, by birthday look I really just mean what I slapped on for the day on my birthday.

Not some wham-bam party look I’m afraid. Sorry to disappoint y’all.

While it’s not gonna be the extreme kind of glitz, glam, smokey and bold, here’s what I had on for the 28th of July anyway!

P7280197

I started this look with absolutely no inkling of what to do with it.

I sat myself down at my vanity, opened up the YSL eyeshadow palettes I had in my stash and stared at them for a couple of minutes before deciding…

Well, you know what, I’m just going to let my hands move about on their own without me thinking (much) and see where this gets me and apparently that meant a silvery soft and slightly blue-hued smokey eye look!

P7280221

It’s considerably natural, compared to the Blue Look Feature I did for the Tuxedo palette, but I wanted an essence of something in there as well instead of just going for my usual neutrals.

P7280225

The look ended up a tad smokier than I had in mind, mainly because I smoked the lower lashline a little more than usual.

P7280207

Due to that I tried to keep the cheeks quite soft because I already had a mind to gloss and glam up the lips with the YSL Glossy Stain in Rouge Laque.

P7280227

P7280212

P7280217

P7280234

P7280200

P7280233

P7280229

Products Used:

BROWS
MAC Dipdown Fluidline

FACE
YSL Forever Light Creator Skintone Corrector Serum
YSL Forever Light Creator Dark Circle Corrector
MAC Lightful C Marine-Bright Formula SPF 30 Moisturizer
YSL Forever Light Creator Sunscreen
YSL Touche Eclat Blur Primer
YSL Fusion Ink Liquid Foundation
Urban Decay NAKED Concealer (under eye)
Lancome Teint Miracle Loose Powder in 01

EYES
Lancome Aquatique Eye Base in 01
YSL Couture Variation Palette in 02 Tuxedo
IN2IT Waterproof Liquid Liner in Black
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Liner in Perversion

CHEEKS
YSL Flower Crush in Rosy Blush

LIPS
YSL Glossy Stain in Rouge Laque

Grey Divider

Soooo, that is that!

P7280241

It’s a rather simple look for a fairly simple birthday which was spent at work mostly followed by a quiet but sumptuous dinner with the family after.

Parties and gatherings are fun but it’s still nice to spend the actual day quietly and casually!

P7280235

I’m a little sad this entry marks the end of my 30 Days of YSL series (because it’s the last day of July already) but I do have a proper round up post and also a mini giveaway coming your way tomorrow, stay tuned for that!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “LOTD: The Birthday Face with YSL! – Soft Blues & Glossy Red Lips!

Leave A Reply!

